Tuesday

I didn’t think of an appropriate title. Well.

I like shopping online. I used to be into buying local but I’m not working or getting disability and most of the local shops are more expensive and they act like they don’t appreciate my business.

I also pay some bills by phone and have some automatic payments taken from my checking account. But I simply don’t want to do online banking. I am not confident that I’ll be well enough to quickly deal with computer problems or internet access problems if they should arise again. My bank keeps pushing it. Like if I said no the last eight weeks, maybe this week I changed my mind. Now it’s that very bank that said my e-mail address is part of that large group that’s been compromised because someone hacked into that marketing firm in Texas, I think it is.

AARP spends a lot on paper and postage to mail me an opportunity to get life insurance about twice a month. Getting off these lists is very difficult–just asking doesn’t seem to do it and then I get tired. It makes me feel like what I want doesn’t matter and I’m not being listened to. It’s like being bothered by gnats sometime.

I have several e-mail accounts and now the spam folders are being filled up by notices from “Fed-Ex” and sometimes “UPS” notifications. Uh-huh.

That’s just the internet. In real life, my personal filters get a work-out tuning out all the nonsense and focusing in on what I value. As an introvert, it’s no wonder I need a lot of solitude just to breathe and hear myself think.

4 Comments

  1. a_spod said,

    April 6, 2011 at 4:47 am

    I do do my banking on-line, but insist the bank send me paper statements. I argue it’s because I’m a programmer, but I suspect a certain episode of Morse has a lot to do with it; I want authentic, paper back ups.

    Does “switching” to on-line banking preclude other forms? Because I’m still able to use phone banking, and doing it on-line is no less secure than any other form of on-line shopping.

    • silvercannon said,

      April 6, 2011 at 11:51 am

      I love your comment (I don’t get many) and you not only actually read my post but referenced Inspector Morse, although I don’t recall that episode. I am slightly traumatized by the way that series ended.

      My bank wants me to go paperless as does my communications company. It would be too easy for me to ignore the e-mails and get things screwed up. I’ve had bad times from being unexpectedly out of town longer than I planned and having challenges taking care of my finances.

      One could say I’m not the brightest bulb anymore (although I’m kinder to myself) and I don’t like being pushed about my habits unless there’s something in it for me. I feel pestered and nagged when folks with agendas want me to change. (Mercy–I must be middle-aged.) Fixing information that has gone wrong calmly is not a strong point of mine.

      Yes, I could still use phone banking too, but I still get paper as back-up for those bills.

      I peeked at you blog and read the “Why I’m commenting….” post. Excellent! I used to read more blogs and wouldn’t get replies on my comments. Many of the blogs I read are by writers and they’re being encouraged to socially network for followers now and I can sense how they’re working it–takes some of the joy out of it for me.

      • a_spod said,

        April 9, 2011 at 5:44 am

        You should switch bank to these guys; they’re stopping people carrying out online transactions for a year…. 🙂

        The Morse episode is the one based around the Magic Flute. Records on the Police National Computer implicate Morse, but Lewis finds a hard copy that show he’s innocent. And the emotional resonance of that mean I refuse to go paperless until the bank issues unforgeable electronic statements (which they could do) or until they charge me extra for paper ones, or unless it’s Paypal. Okay, so actually I’m pretty easy; but the thought is there.

        FWIW an inability to express oneself is not the same thing as being dumb. I’ve worked on my own for so long that my fingers can “think” quicker than my tongue, and dealing with people face-to-face (or over the phone) can be far more challenging.

  2. April 7, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I love online banking but also insist on paper statements…I just feel safer that way. Plus I don’t have a working printer so can only print at work. My pet peeve about junk mail? Every month Bank of America sends me an envelope full of check to try to get me to transfer my non existent credit card debt to their card. What a waste of paper and postage…especially since I also get 4 other envelopes from them each month for my credit card statement, checking account statement, savings account statement and Mortgage bill.


Leave a comment