State of the Blog

This blog got a comment I needed to approve or not so I was reminded of its existence. After tracking down my password I logged in and saw that it still gets views. That surprised me. It was never a well-read blog; I wrote for enjoyment and for something positive to do while I was continuing to go through some great challenges.

While I was posting I never thought beyond the possibility of someone reading within a day or two. It’s been almost a year since I’ve even logged in and now I see that every month someone reads something. I’m not ashamed of anything I’ve written but it’s given me pause to think how long some of this content sticks around.

Towards the end of my engagement here I was reading so much of what other people were doing that I didn’t really have time to attend to my own blog. It was a learning experience and I enjoyed it but in the end it just seemed that everyone was wanting attention and not really giving it to others. Maybe my perception is wrong but I just didn’t understand the game here.

Now that I’ve got my password info and this is on my radar again perhaps I’ll write from time to time.

5 Comments

  1. a_spod said,

    October 16, 2012 at 5:21 am

    Yeah there are plenty of bloggers who aren’t good at reciprocating. But the blogs themselves are often a good indicator of whether the author is a thoughtful intelligent, sensitive person. 😉 I have become a little bit more ruthless about seeking out those who want to build friendships rather than those who want to be the stars of their own newspaper column. And some blogs I read, but don’t comment on, because I know I’m wasting my time.

    But if we could all get by without attention, then we’d live as hermits. Wanting attention is not wrong; it’s wanting attention and not giving it back that is the problem. And of course, people can’t show they care about your problems if you don’t actually blog… 😉 So you do have to balance out the commenting with the writing blogs.

    • October 17, 2012 at 11:37 am

      That’s all very true. It is a balance and I was reading more than blogging.

      I like the idea of ruthlessly building friendships and letting a blog grow organically and slowly.

      Other challenges I had was being aware that it’s considered important to have a photo with a post and that was time-consuming for me. Another “rule” I wasn’t following well was that my focus was all over the place. With the winter coming maybe I can just blog my way and keep things in balance.

      Now there’s a little challenge I could do and have fun with!

  2. a_spod said,

    October 22, 2012 at 3:41 am

    Definitely let it grow organically.

    Rules are for people who want to be told what to do, rather than think for themselves. But pictures do create an “icon” that help people remember a blog visually. There are plenty of sites with free, high-quality images (try morguefile) but it’s got to be appropriate and that’s hard with introspective blogs so I’ve been linking to songs.

    The title of my blog (1000 kinds of rain) declares my ecumenical approach to subject matter, but I’ve found my lack of focus makes writing hard – when your remit is everything, what should you shine a spotlight on? Actually, on second thoughts, maybe its been the lack of an audience that has made it harder; I’m drafting a book review now because I know a couple of readers will get something out of it.

    • October 27, 2012 at 7:59 pm

      I’m sure that more than a couple of readers will get something out of it.

      I remember you commenting on my blog before and I had trouble finding yours but this last time I was able to. Maybe I just don’t know how to get around the interwebs very well.

  3. a_spod said,

    October 29, 2012 at 5:19 am

    Well, I’ve mistyped the URL in the second comment – that probably doesn’t help 😉


Leave a Reply

