A Year Later

This blog was started a year ago yesterday on a whim. I don’t recall what I was thinking at the time. It seems I may have been tired of being an eternal feedback machine for people talking at me but never listening. My blog–I could express myself and tune out everyone who wanted to argue with me.

Yeah, I have symptoms of chronic fatigue and one of the things that sinks my energy really fast if for someone to argue with me about something I’ve said. It really does make me want to say, “whatever.”

Also my creativity is messy. I was attracted to producing something that at first, superficial glance appeared to be polished and somewhat professional. I soon found that putting photos in was more work than I wanted to do.

I wanted to add some structure to my life. Not being able to depend on my health from one day to the next, it’s quite a challenge to walk that fine line of putting my health first and being productive and moving forward in my life. Often I’m the only one I’m accountable to and that whole integrity and responsibility and the like is really getting exercised on my part.

It has made a difference although I’m not quite clear as to why. Like today, I’m still not at my best and because I have some structure in place I’m not collapsing into a pile of mush, brain included.

The blog so far seems to be a winter seasonal thing. I’d really rather be outdoors. I still look at the blogs of others when I have time. It’s amazing really for someone who was born way before all this internet stuff happened. And like many other things, it makes a difference how each person finds a place to fit it into their own life. It feels like most of us have even less time than we did last year. I hope that gets flipped back soon.

2 Comments

  1. a_spod said,

    December 7, 2011 at 2:13 am

    Congratulations on your anniversary.

    (Although, you’d have to be in your forties to be older than the internet – it officially started in 1969. And the *current* standard for transferring email was written in August 1982. I’m not interested in your age; I’m just trying to surprise you with the age of the internet. Most people don’t realise how old it is.)

  2. December 7, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    Yes, I am older than the internet. And I know how old it is now but wasn’t aware of it at the time. It wasn’t much on my radar at all until about 1995. Before that I was very vaguely aware of it as a geeky, scientific, academic thing and wouldn’t have imagined the creative and social aspects of it. Also, it seemed quite an expensive luxury—like maybe owning a yacht.

    Actually, I didn’t learn to use a PC until 2002. One of the things that put me off was I thought I’d have to learn how to use everything one could do, when actually I get by quite happily with only a small fraction of what it’s capable of.

    Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

