Writing What I Feel Like

It’s Thanksgiving. I haven’t been feeling well so I stayed home and slept most of the day. When I woke up I felt like making meat loaf and now I’m waiting for it to be ready to take out of the oven. It’s only the second time I’ve used this particular recipe and this time I didn’t leave out any of the ingredients so I’m thinking I’ll really like it.

Every once in awhile, something pops onto my radar regarding astrology. Today is one of those auspicious times. There’s a Sagittarius Solar Eclipse and New Moon. I’ve noticed New Moon’s are good for beginnings. In fact I began this blog during a New Moon almost a year ago and had fun with it until summer when I craved being out in the sunshine.

The internet reading I’ve done indicates this is a special Solar Eclipse. I’m not going to explain why–you can take my word for it. Or not.

Wherever the Solar Eclipse falls in a natal chart, is an area where it’s like a graduation now. Where more can be possible and restrictions fall away. Of course, these things aren’t handed out on a silver platter. I’m a believer in responsibility and self-authority.

Anyway, it happens to fall in my fifth house. Yes, I’ve had a natal chart professionally done. The fifth house is generally referred to as the one of creativity, fun, love, etc. Now that intrigued me. The information is often presented in a dry and serious manner. Doing a quick internet search, I found information about the fifth house that is more juicy and inspiring. The information is by Dana Gerhardt and she helps explain it by writing about the film Chocolat.

Very timely for me to read. There are many, many things I appreciate in this life. Right now I feel fortunate that this information is helping me to notice a fresh start. And I’m really looking forward to the meat loaf too.

4 Comments

  1. a_spod said,

    November 25, 2011 at 6:31 am

    Happy Thanksgiving. (Or happy Black Friday.) I hope your meat loaf was nice.

    I don’t believe a word of astrology. Nevertheless I need all the good luck I can muster. In fact, I walked out the door on Tuesday and saw a Leonid falling out of Orion. Under ideal conditions, you’d see 10 Leonids an hour, and I was looking through street lights, so that was pretty lucky. I didn’t see another.

    And FWIW eclipses can only ever happen at a New Moon. Think about the geometry: a New Moon occurs when the Sun is in “in front” of the Moon, so that none of the illuminated parts can be seen from Earth. Sometimes the Moon passes directly in front of the Sun, and there’s an eclipse – in this case it’s a partial eclipse. But on most orbits, it passed above or below the Sun (or is too far out for the shadow to reach the Earth) and then we get an ordinary New Moon.

    Here endeth the astronomy lesson.

    • November 25, 2011 at 7:44 pm

      Thank you for reading and commenting. Yes, the meat loaf turned out very well.

      Of course you don’t believe a word of astrology. And I’m sure you can find evidence in your life that will inspire you to believe that things are about to warrant a fresh start.

      I googled Leonids in Orion, just in case you were making that up, and was led to an enjoyable short video showing a couple of the meteors. The meteor showers must be why I got so much accomplished on Tuesday. Just kidding.

      Thanks for the astronomy lesson. I’ve spent most of my life avoiding thinking about geometry but this fact may be one of those things I can recall easily from now on, unlike my passwords or where I’ve placed things in my home.

      Your kind and informative comment has caused me to chuckle several times today. One of the reasons for this blog is so I can express myself without the left-brained, objective-oriented people in my life sighing and giving me looks.

      Please stop by anytime.

  2. a_spod said,

    November 28, 2011 at 6:41 am

    Well, it took me a few minutes to realise eclipses are correlated with New Moons. My first thought was “I wonder how often that happens…” It was only then that it dawned on me. 😳 So I think we’re getting smarter together.

    I saw three more Leonids on Friday. But I was looking straight up – at my “zenith”. And none were as dramatic as Tuesday’s one. It wasn’t clear on Saturday. I didn’t see any more on Sunday. 😦

    BTW I wasn’t judging you on astrology. (Well, not too much. πŸ˜‰ I meant it more as, “I’m that desperate I might just be prepared believe in it”… (FWIW my problems begin with the theology; its needs to be “anchored” in an external deity or some pantheistic universal consciousness. Why should people posses a predetermined fate or a destiny, beyond the fact that such a thing is implicit in Newtonian Mechanics and General Relativity…?)

    • November 28, 2011 at 9:16 pm

      I didn’t feel at all judged by your opinion of astrology. You were quite civil and for some reason your comment amused me.

      It seems to me that your sense of desperation really shouldn’t lead you to believing in astrology, which apparently isn’t for you.(I doubt that you would ever believe anyway.) One thing that’s so great about this planet–there’s something for everyone. I’ve noticed the things I’ve reached for out of desperation ended up being a disappointment.

      And actually it has nothing to do with predetermined fate or destiny. Thinking doesn’t help me out of desperation into perceiving possible positive outcomes. Heart is the new Mind.


Leave a Reply

