Priorities

Every day I choose between different activities and lately the computer hasn’t been attractive to me. There’s been more time spent outdoors and other days I want to sleep for an hour here or there during the day. There’s been engaging projects that I haven’t wanted to walk away from and I’ve noticed a feeling of distraction and annoyance when I log on and check things online.

This year so far has been about creating a new life for myself after my health challenges and other losses during the past several years. Often a journey like that has unexpected unfolding and it’s tempting to look the other way–to pretend certain awareness isn’t really important.

In this situation, it is the strong realization that while my current city has served me well for the last five years, considering the events and challenges, it is not where I want to spend the rest of my life. I admit that to myself with dismay and relief and I’ll just live with it a little while until its time to take the next step, whatever that may be.

3 Comments

  1. May 5, 2011 at 10:44 am

    Sometimes it is so hard to break away from our routines…good and bad…take that step back and see what really works for us and what needs to change. Change is a frightening thing sometimes…but can be so rewarding.

  2. May 5, 2011 at 10:45 am

    PS..hope you’ve found a few of those 20 items!! I hate it when I can’t find things…so much for putting things in a safe place…usually I put then in a place so safe that even I can’t access them any longer!

    • May 5, 2011 at 1:28 pm

      Change seems to be happening more often and you’re right about taking a step back.

      As for the missing items, I’m intending to pay more attention to what I’m doing when I’m at home. Some of the items have gone into the dumpster, I’m afraid.


Leave a Reply

