Updates

The three basil seedlings are still alive. They don’t get enough sun and are spindly so I keep turning them. I plucked a leaf off one that seemed to be weighing it down. I ate the leaf and didn’t get much of a taste.

I’ve watched episodes three and four of Edwardian Farm. (It’s awkward the way I watch them on YouTube.) Alex has learned to repair and make hedgerows. The tool he used was shown being forged. Ruth cleaned and disinfected the privy for use. The walls inside were painted with something white which helped disinfect as well as make it easier to see in the dark. Two floppy-eared sows were brought to put in the pig sty next to the privy to assist in composting. They were painted with a waxy substance to protect their skin. Rooting around, they seemed happy and oblivious to whatever was going on outside of what was in front of their noses.

Peter began a trout hatchery. About 1500 eggs were harvested from one trout and she was released back into the stream. It seemed quite a laborious project, making pitch to coat the wooden hatchery and cutting down trees and sawing the lumber for it.

A tractor was borrowed to plow the field. It is the oldest working tractor in the world. Only 500 were made because they were extremely expensive.

Ruth also prepared toilet paper out of newspaper. She has a surprise secret project going–picking sloe from the hedgerow, mixing it with sugar and gin and at Christmas will have sloe gin to share. That was unusual because temperance was being pushed during the time period.

And if you’re still reading this far–on a personal note, I had a consultation with an expert today who recognized that I’m doing very well with the hand I’ve been dealt. I know this to be true and also that it isn’t apparent to the world. I was told that I’m the “gutsiest person” she’s ever met. True. I know it down to my toes.

2 Comments

  1. Max Akroyd said,

    March 26, 2011 at 1:41 am

    Those scenes you describe are very vivid in my mind, even though I haven’t watched Edwardian Farm for ages. Did you ever see Tales from the Green Valley, the first series? I’m sure you’d love it.

    If there’s a higher virtue than gutsy-ness, I’ve yet to encounter it!

    • silvercannon said,

      March 26, 2011 at 11:40 am

      Hi Max–I love these historical farming shows. They give me a feeling of rootedness. My childhood was very rural and my time very unstructured and these shows give a sense of space, presence, mystery and flow that is lacking in my urban, traffic and technology filled environment. I feel relief and joy that some people are caring for the knowledge and skills of these time periods.

      I’ve not seen Tales from the Green Valley yet–it’s offered on the YouTube channel that I’m watching EF on. There is also a show about a “Cottage” I might look at.

      I’ve just ordered Downtown Abbey from Amazon–not sure if I’ll like it. There are many kinds of humor I don’t appreciate, including much British humor, and hopefully the series won’t have much of it.

      Thanks for the mentioning of being gutsy as a high virtue. It can be a lonely road and I’m sure there are many other folks on the planet with inner lives of strength, courage and endurance that others are clueless about. I’m sure your chosen lifestyle has epic moments that call for character.

      And here I’ve written a reply longer than many of my posts!


Leave a Reply

