Edwardian Farm

A few months ago, I greatly enjoyed the BBC show Victorian Farm which someone posted in videos on YouTube. The DVD’s which are available on Amazon do not play in my regions’s DVD players.

The two archeologists, Peter and Alex, and historian Ruth, lived for a year on a farm they worked as the Victorians did for a year, like a documentary/reality show. After checking back a few times, someone has now posted the episodes of Edwardian Farm which I’ve begun watching. It’s all I can do to keep from staying up into the wee hours of the morning watching more of it.

The Edwardian era in England was from about 1901 when Queen Victoria died to about 1914 while King Edward the 7th was on the throne, ending about the time of the first World War. (This was about six years before my Dad was born here in America). I’m guessing that King Edward was the grandfather of the “King’s Speech” King.

Anyway, it’s fascinating. They’ve already brought in farm animals. Ruth scrubbed the kitchen floor with a brush on her hands and knees and said that women would do that twice a day in that era. (It doesn’t sound like my ancestors would have but never mind that.)

The soil is acidic and the men hauled tons (literally) of limestone to nearby kilns to burn into quick lime to spread on the field. Much of the men’s work so far has seemed very dangerous to me. The quick lime business let off toxic carbon monoxide and if gotten wet could cause an explosion or caustic burns.

A heavy granite rock was carved into a feed trough to keep the sheep food off the ground. It was moved in a very laborious way of the times.

One of the meals that Ruth cooked was a sheep’s head soup and it was gross to see the actual head on the table and later when the soup was done. Most of the meat during the time seems to have been sold and what was left for the farmers were such as the head.

The chimney was clogged up and Alex climbed up on the roof while Peter and Ruth were helping near the stove below to unclog it. Fortunately, Alex couldn’t bring himself to use the chicken–yes, he was holding a live chicken to throw down the chimney to unclog it–and they ended up using a bunch of holly instead. Another dirty job.

Ruth spent hours out in the field cutting gorse to feed the horses. It looked rough but they stomp on it first and eat it.

This is what I remember from watching–me of the not-so-great-memory–and I will attempt to ration my enjoyment of it to make the episodes last. There’s always the chance that YouTube will shut down the account like they tend to do. While I enjoy watching, I am certain I would not want to live that lifestyle after living as I do now.

4 Comments

  1. Recipe Chefs said,

    March 20, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes

    Recipe Chefs –

    http://recipechefs.wordpress.com

  2. March 21, 2011 at 7:11 am

    I keep meaning to check those shows out! They sound fascinating. Full episodes of both are on youtube?

    • silvercannon said,

      March 21, 2011 at 10:39 am

      Actually the complete shows are presented in segments. I believe 15 minutes is the maximum length of videos. With Edwardian Farm, the first episode is shown in four segments.

      The channel I’m watching it on also has many other videos and they aren’t all in an easy, chronological order, which I find only to be a minor obstacle.

      There are other Brit shows on the zodiacza channel I’m watching it on that I intend to check out later.

      Let me know how you like them when you check them out.

      • March 21, 2011 at 10:42 am

        I’m going to ask the boyfriend (as he lives on the pc anyway) to scour the internet for me and see if he can find them! You’re not the first person who has mentioned how interesting they are….

        I’ll let you know how I do and what I think of them:)


Leave a Reply

