Into Three Digit Posts

Yesterday I wrote my 100th post in a row. This blog is enjoyable and I’ve been showing up even when I feel listless and snotty.

After a weekend of rain, today was sunny and not too windy and it was one of those days when people noticed me and were friendly. Seriously, some days I’m invisible.

Mostly I was getting sunshine, exercise and more food. When a diet consists of mostly plants, there is a lot of shopping involved. Especially for fresh produce instead of frozen or canned.

I’m reading another new book on adrenaline exhaustion. While having several other books already and plenty of information, I find the subject fascinating. This year, I’ve kept my resolution to prepare all my meals at home instead of dining in restaurants but my break from book buying hasn’t gone so well. Looking at my credit card statement, I see I’ve spent about three hundred dollars on books this year. Perhaps that seems excessive but I’m not travelling or going out these days. With the weather getting better, I’ll intend to utilize the public library more and once again resolve to take a break from buying books until I’ve read more of the ones I have.

It just seems that so much change is happening in the world and people are writing interesting things about it. The health field is changing rapidly among other areas. While I enjoy the internet, I don’t care for what it does to my attention span
.
Anyway, what I really wanted to write about when I began today–and I’m feeling perkier and chattier than the last few days– is that the recommendation for my diet is to eat every three hours. I love food and that’s great for me. Of course, they aren’t all meals–some are snacks–but still.

3 Comments

  1. March 15, 2011 at 8:57 am

    I agree with what you said about the internet. It is definitely a double edged sword. For all that is wonderful about it, people now expect all information to be ready at the push of a button and to be summarized and “dumbed” down for quick and easy consumption. I spend maybe 45min – 1hr a day online (not counting work hours) and I feel that is too much.

    I know so many others who are online so much longer…it makes me wonder what else in their lives is suffering as a result. (My boyfriend is usually online 6-7 hrs a weeknight and at least 12hrs a weekend day) Not only does it drive me crazy…but I just don’t get it!

    • silvercannon said,

      March 15, 2011 at 9:40 am

      When I first found WordPress, I spent a lot of time checking it out but now only consistently follow two blogs that I trust–yours is one–and a few others occasionally, including freshly pressed.

      As someone who wants to become more creative, I believe creativity is one area that suffers when excessive internet use is chosen. Also, how can it not affect one’s imagination and original thinking? Much of what I value in myself comes from spending a lot of time outdoors as a child with cats and chickens, etc, learning to observe and think. Our family didn’t have a television until I was about nine years old and then my parents chose the program–maybe two or three hours a week. When ideas and images are constantly being programmed into a person, how do they know who they really are?

      Also, I get it that young people communicate electronically these days, but how can they truly connect and learn effective social skills unless they hang out with their friends and have real conversations? There are lots of young people in the building I live in and there’s a world of difference between the real people and the electronically hooked-up zombies.

      You know I do a lot of health research and watching a flickering screen after dark–not good at all biologically. As soon as I feel slightly irritated when I’m online, I know it’s time to get off. I’m sorry your boyfriend spends so much time online–I guess I’d be jealous of the computer. Maybe when spring is more fully arrived you can encourage him to spend more time outdoors?

  2. March 16, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    I am so flattered that you find my blog worth the time:) Especially since I’ve got no theme but rather randomly talk about whatever is on my mind at the moment. I love reading yours…just because I think that although we feel similarly about quite a few things…you always manage to pop a new idea or two into my head.

    I completely agree about learning to use one’s imagination via free play outdoors with others and interaction with animals. Too many children today are raised on diets of television, video games and internet….and when they do play…they play with toys or games that are so structured as to allow for very little improvisation and stretching of the imagination. Throw a child into the woods and let them find their own toys and make up their own games with their peers!! They will not only stretch their imaginations but also learn key socialization skills!

    And regarding my boyfriend…he is not as much of an outdoors person as I am, but that is definitely my plan.


Leave a Reply

