Gluten-free Snacks I Like

hard to live without snacks

gluten-free snacks

If you’re gluten-intolerant you know it isn’t a stroll through the park managing grocery shopping, meal planning and food preparation. If you aren’t and know someone who is, any annoyance and inconvenience you might feel because of their dietary needs pales in comparison to what they’ve gone through and are dealing with. Sometimes these things are cumulative and you never know when you might begin to have food issues.

Mostly I eat veggies. There are other food dilemmas I have besides the gluten thing that makes eating in restaurants very problematic so I’ve been avoiding them. When getting involved in projects at home, I don’t want to change gears and cook all the time so I rely on snacks. There are numerous excellent bloggers who write about gluten-free living and post recipes. The snack reviews here are about my preferences and not all of the products are totally healthy. There are not-so-good ingredients in some of them and it’s your responsibility to always check labels.

One of the most convenient for me is the Blue Diamond Nut-Thins because I can spread them with various things and they are found not only at the expensive food co-op but in regular stores. There are pecan, almond and other flavors and all of them taste good although the cheddar cheese nut and rice crackers are messy. Usually I’m snacking while doing something else.

The Mi-Del cookie brand has regular as well as gluten-free cookies. My favorite flavor is the ginger snaps. The chocolate chip are O.K. The Mr Krispies rice chips have lots of flavor–the co-op only carries a few of them and the sour cream is my favorite. These snacks are very expensive compared to the crappy non-food available otherwise and I don’t eat a lot of them. It’s just too painful to go through life eating only veggies and a little meat.

Another chip I tried recently and liked is Boulder Canyon’s Rice & Bean Snack Chips with adzuki beans. Adzuki beans are better for my blood type and they don’t have lectins in them. (The slow-cooker lentil recipe I love and have recently been making, needs to have adzuki beans as a substitute which I’ll experiment with soon.) I had the chipotle cheese flavor and only bought them because they were on sale. Otherwise I won’t be getting them for quite awhile because of the price.

The brownies I made from a mix yesterday, that I’ll make again are Gluten Free Pantry’s chocolate truffle brownie mix. They are from the Glutino company who also makes the frozen personal size pizza crusts that I can’t tolerate so far. I use the Kinnikinnick brands frozen crusts instead which cost about $3.00 more for a package of four personal size but also don’t make me gag.

Just looking in the freezer, I noticed the breaded cod by Starfish, which also makes gluten-free breaded halibut and haddock. The cod is less pricey so it’s what I buy and I like it.

Rice Chex cereal is an old standby and I use rice milk with it. After awhile you get used to it. Actually, I have trouble with lots of different grains and need to make sure I’m not overdoing rice because one can easily build an intolerance to foods that are used often in a diet.

The Hodgson Mill cookie mix in the photo above, I didn’t care for so much. It had that sandy texture and broke apart. I didn’t use the teaspoon of vanilla that it called for and I doubt that make a difference. The Sun Mills cookie mix I wrote about awhile back worked better for me.

There’s a biscuit mix in the cupboard I’ve never tried and will do so today or tomorrow because I have eggs right now. It’s from well-known national brand that I’m not recalling the name of.

When the farmers market gets going again, I’ll be eating more seasonally and less of these products. Variety and the uses of spices and herbs is making my restricted diet more tolerable.

Leave a Reply

