My Blog, My Friend

I’m not really prepared to write anything but I’m here and I want to get off the computer and go out and do things.

I’ve just been drawn in to reading blogs I subscribe to and following links and have learned some tips about blogging that I’m just not ready to incorporate.

The one for writers about having their real names easy to find–that one can go because I am learning the craft.

I already know that it would help my blog if I posted more pictures but I see there is a limit until you need to upgrade and I plan to be here for awhile.

As far as focusing on a topic–well, no. I don’t want to. Maybe in a few years I can have separate blogs for my main interests but that isn’t really a focus of mine right now.

I’m using shorter paragraphs and breaking them up here (another tip), maybe to an exaggeration but it’s a trial-and-error thing which I might likely forget soon.

I read a blog post directed at writers about why their blogs suck. Again, LEARNING. It had to do with comments. People read my blog and don’t comment and that’s o.k. with me. I know it’s work to come up with something even if you like a post or if you don’t. Right now, I’m not writing to get people to follow me. I read other blogs for inspiration and information (and distraction) not to network.

What the hell am I trying to say? I’ve read some great tips on how to improve my blog and while I am willing to keep them in mind, I’m not willing to change until I feel like it. O.K. maybe I’m resistant and stubborn. It’s way more important for me to practice being authentic than working for support, approval and attention.

I really look forward to writing this everyday. Even on the days that I wonder if I can make any sense at all. It is having a cumulative healing effect and is positively impacting other areas of my life. No matter how many other frustrations and failings happen during the day, I can write a post. Accomplished.

Every single day, there are numerous things I could go into a rant about and so far, I believe, I’ve refrained from doing that.

My blog is my friend, no matter what anyone else thinks of it or whether they comment or not. Or whether anyone even finds it. It is amazing that I have perfectionist tendencies and high standards for someone who could be observed and labeled as a world-class, clumsy, slow, ineffectual loser. What a great job I’m doing of not letting all that ruin and discourage my experience here.

Now, no matter what little humiliations and glitches and annoyances I experience the rest of the day, I have successfully completed another blog post. And I did the shorter paragraph/breaking up thing. For today, anyway.

4 Comments

  1. Max Akroyd said,

    January 21, 2011 at 1:43 am

    Hi Silvercannon,

    Your blog is quite hard to comment upon because your posts are very balanced and tend to encompass all aspects of the subject matter. A good and wise thing.

    If the posts were one-sided rants it would provoke more response but would lose a lot of value.

    I don’t like the short paragraphs. It breaks up your cadence and I don’t think you need to import style tips!

    Max

    • silvercannon said,

      January 21, 2011 at 1:26 pm

      Hi Max,

      Thanks! You and others are welcome to read without commenting. I certainly don’t have the energy to deal with anything I might provoke.

      I don’t like the short paragraphs either and will save them for when I have brain fog.

      Maybe it’s best that I simply practice and improve organically. A lot of this is my sorting things out and coming to terms and framing, like you mentioned yesterday in your own blog.

  2. January 21, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Your blog…your choice how and what to write and to what end!

    • silvercannon said,

      January 21, 2011 at 1:16 pm

      Hi Melissa. Yes, I know. That’s what I’m going to go with. Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

