Computer Time

Like most people, I could use my time more efficiently so that I can have more of it. Reading an online headline yesterday evening (because what I was searching for slipped my mind), I saw the results of a study on the health of people who spent more than two hours a day in front of a screen. Both computer and television. This was discretionary time, I think. Screen time instead of playing basketball or cleaning closets or reading a book.
Usually I don’t believe studies. They seem to have nothing to do with me and a lot to do with some agenda. This makes sense though.
I’ve mentioned recently my adrenal burnout and in researching that I was reminded that it’s healthy to be in bed asleep by 10:00 p.m. when possible and to have the room very dark for melatonin production among other things. I’ve read about circadian rhythms and how the light flickering from a computer or television screen messes that up.
Life is about making choices and I don’t like to be fearful of what I’m doing but it makes sense that tweaking a few things in a better direction would be very well worth it in a cumulative way.
I am kind of a spacey person who is ever evolving and I thought about the way-more-than-two hours I spend daily looking at a screen.
Often while I’m puttering around my apartment or out running errands I’m aware of things I want to research online. I can’t stop and write them down but later when I log on I find myself wasting way too much time, not remembering what I was after and getting easily distracted.
Today I wrote computer focus items on a piece of paper to see how that works for me. Actually, if it takes on as a habit I think it would work very well.
Of course I’ve seen this recommended many times as a way to operate more productively but I’ve also seen a gazillion others such recommendations about every aspect of life imaginable and this is the one that is lighting up for me now as a good habit to get into. Spend less time on the computer and less time after dark with the light flickering in my retinas. Spending more time having a life and less time getting programmed by information from outside.
I really appreciate some aspects of technology–it’s simply a matter of a better balance.

2 Comments

  1. January 13, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    We all need reminders from time to time about finding balance. Thx.

    • silvercannon said,

      January 13, 2011 at 6:03 pm

      So true. I just took a peek at your blog and it’s the kind I enjoy reading.


Leave a Reply

