Green Self-Authority

Yesterday, I began writing about my farm.
It’s imperative that the world’s food system change to something more sustainable, humane and more efficiently distributed. You can find plenty of information to support that elsewhere.
I’m interested in organic farming, supporting local, small family farms and being good stewards of the environment. There’s plenty of information around about that also.
That being said, while it’s important to educate people and help them wake up, it’s counterproductive to get in their faces and use shame, guilt and fear to coerce them to change.
Speaking for myself, I’m thoughtful about my choices and do the best I can with my odd circumstances and the resources I have available. I have priorities and values and the self-authority to know what I believe is right.
When I lived in Colorado, my apartment had recycling available and I was a good, careful recycler. Then I moved further west and the building I live in now has only big trash bins available. I am careful about what I buy and bring in but I don’t have a car and I won’t pay a cab or someone else to take my recycling. My resources are going for shelter, food and restoring my health. No one has said anything, but I’ve gotten some looks. (Most of my actual neighbors don’t care–they hang around the building smoking.)
It’s a reasonable, balanced lifestyle even if it doesn’t fit what other people might think is correct.
Having pesticide/mercury/environmental poisoning that’s damaged my organs, central nervous system and whacked my hormones among other things, I must eat the best food possible. I’d like for healthy, nutritious food to be available to all people.
My farm is over one thousand miles away. There is a tenant farmer who planted corn and soybeans last year. Some years wheat has been planted. He has a full time job and works several other farms. They are all small.
Ideally, corn and beans wouldn’t be my choice. I don’t care for what Monsanto is doing at all. I could go on and on about all that. That’s what’s available to me though. There are no organic farmers in the area.
Once when I was talking to some farmers in my hometown, I mentioned my interest in alternative housing, like the straw bale houses that are used in the southwest or the glass bottle houses that have blueprints available now. With some scorn, I was told that around there alternative housing meant mobile homes. O.K.
The money I earn from the corn and soybeans that I don’t approve of is what keeps a roof over my head and keeps me fed. I have not been able to work since March of 2007. I did not get unemployment or disability, mostly because I was care-taking others.
I am appreciative and grateful that I have a means to survive right now and I can live with it without judging myself.
It takes all kinds in the world and that includes activists and change agents and folks getting the message out. I am more low-key, subversive and am also well aware of the need to compromise in my own life. People who are so pumped about their causes and their agendas and don’t care at all about me as an individual totally lose me, no matter how great their cause is now. I have a right to choose what to give my attention to and what to support regarding change in the world.
Most people who have harshly criticized me in the past in order to get me to change something according to the way they wanted things to be were not supporting me in any way. It used to intimidate me. Until I was reminded once again that I can’t live for other’s approval or by their guidelines of what’s right and wrong.
The small farm that is supporting me as it is right now and my continuing interest in the environment, nutrition and the distribution of resources is only one of my passions. I can live with that.
The farm has been in my family for generations. I have a good idea of what my ancestors went through and sacrificed. Irish dirt farmers wanting a better life.

My paternal grandfather front right, my great-grandmother center

Leave a Reply

