A Few Thoughts About Being an Artist

Well about me being an artist anyway, or rather where I’m at with taking it up again after decades of longing and neglect.
First, I’m going to skip over blame, excuses and explanations.
What I’m noticing is how messy it is (the acrylic painting part), which I didn’t recall. Also, I’m aware that I’ll basically need to learn everything again, which I’m willing to do.
The part that I do remember is how beautiful everything around me looked when I was seeing things as an artist and that seeing experience is showing up in small glimmers.
What doesn’t bother me at all (as far as my own artistic endeavors go) is hearing how local artists in my area have had to give it up full-time and about all the feelings and thoughts that went into those decisions.
Art and culture is very important. My ancestors were not into art at all, but both my grandfathers who were born in the late 1800’s and were mainly farmers played musical instruments at gatherings because that’s how it was back then.
I’m not discouraged to take my journey through it now. What makes it interesting to me is the varying degrees of nervous system interference I deal with now and the effect it has. Yes, my hands shake sometimes and my manual dexterity is not so great. And I’m still not discouraged.
I love looking at nature and also beautiful objects. It’s been a surprise to me to find that I want to do portraits instead. I always believed them to be a lot harder to learn to do. Then I noticed that five of the last seven pieces of art I bought had people in them, unlike the earlier pieces I collected.
The results I get may not be what I would wish but when I think about the process it feels like a cool drink of water or better oxygen.
I haven’t looked at the artist’s blogs on WordPress yet but I have noticed three lovely paintings in the archives at the Rural Idiocy? blog done by Emma. No, I don’t have the linking thing down yet. One painting is of a stormy outdoor scene, another a pearl onion and yet another is of a duck egg on some sort of old object.
They are beautiful and I’ll be looking through the archives for more.

3 Comments

  1. timkeen40 said,

    January 3, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Good luck as you get back in. Don’t get discouraged and do not stop!

    Tim

  2. Emma Akroyd said,

    January 4, 2011 at 1:57 am

    Max (from rural idiocy?) just let me know about your post.

    Thank you for mentioning me in your post, it really spurs me on to get blogging again, but for now here’s a direct link to the art blog : http://kerveguenart.wordpress.com/ (I’ve taken a little time out lately to have a new baby).

    It’s always a good thing to get back into art and creating! I’ve been thinking lately about figurative subjects and portraits too, so it’ll be interesting to see how we both get on with that.

    Best wishes,

    Emma

    • silvercannon said,

      January 4, 2011 at 10:13 am

      Thank you so much for providing the link to your art blog. I just took a quick peek (must get on with my day now) and really liked what I saw.
      Of course, a new baby would come first. Congratulations.
      I know you must have a lot to do considering your chosen lifestyle and I hope you continue to use and share your artistic talent. I believe it’s a wonderful thing for children to see their parents doing creative things that they love to do.


Leave a Reply

