Just Getting it Done

Christmas Tree 1944Today I wrote out most of my Christmas cards. It would be great if I felt more festive and less like I was doing something like tax preparation but I can’t always be in an optimum mood. Many people seem to have had a difficult year and many of my cards go to elderly relatives. I have two aunts in their mid-90’s, one in her 80’s and one in her 70’s. No e-cards for them.

I found my digital camera in a drawer where it’s been for awhile and am considering decorating a small tree and posting it here on my blog. Hopefully I won’t need to find the directions for getting the images loaded onto my computer. When I don’t do things often, it’s like I have never done them before. It would have been great if the instructions were kept with the camera. There may be instructions on my computer. Oh, to have more confidence in myself.

So in the meantime I found a photo from The Commons on flikr. This tree was the cover of a McCall’s homemaking magazine in 1944.

I watched the Christmas segments of the “Victorian Farm” after I finished with the cards. On Christmas eve Clumper, the Shire horse, pulled a wagon with the folks in it to the local church where they sang hymns. There were candles for lights and you could see the breath of the folks as they were singing.

The tree was put up at the last minute. The historians in this series had guests for Christmas dinner and Ina, the turkey, was served as the meat course. There was also cow’s tongue and other dishes that aren’t served today.

Before one of the men went pheasant hunting, he waterproofed his boots with a mixture of beeswax, tar and tallow. For chapped hands, the woman made a mixture of lard, honey, some oats, rosewater and a few other ingredients of the sort.

There are pregnant sheep and a pregnant pig and their babies are something to look forward to, although these are definitely not pets. They will likely share the same fate as Ina.

Half-heartedly I got other things done today. It rained again. I’m comfortable, just not perky and that’s O.K.

Leave a Reply

