Victorian Farm

There’s a lovely view outside my window. It’s very foggy again and the downtown Christmas lighting is wispy looking. There was rarely any  fog during the first four winters that I’ve lived here.

It cleared up this afternoon and the sun shone weakly for awhile. The temperature was in the mid 40’s and I walked to Winco to get some snacks and eggnog. I got more wasabi almonds and jalapeno jelly.

Today I didn’t notice I hadn’t had coffee until about four in the afternoon. It’s been recommended that I quit using caffeine for awhile but it’s been my hold-out. So many other  things I’ve given up, even coffee for six months about fifteen years ago. I never felt normal and functional during that time.

What I did today was drink several cups of hot tea and I simply forgot about the coffee. I’ll experiment with that, drinking just enough coffee to avoid headaches.

Yesterday I learned of a fascinating British documentary/reality show called Victorian Farm. Three historians live for a year as the farmers of England did around 1885. They have assistance from other historians and locals but it is very laborious work. I’ve watched them sow wheat, make apple cider and construct a pig sty.

The woman made chutney and preserved other foods and sealed the crocks with pig bladders. It was recommended on laundry day that the farm wife rise at 2:00 a.m. instead of 6:00.

I’ve watched about seven of the thirty-six segments on YouTube. I looked for dvd’s on Amazon and it isn’t available  for U.S. region players.

I’m learning to blog by doing and am not quite ready to do links yet, although I looked at some instructions for inserting them. The videos can be found on YouTube as “Victorian Farm” and the segments are from  four to ten minutes in length.  There’s also a book available on Amazon that can ship in one to four months.

I live very modestly but those folks in 1885 might think I live like royalty. They worked from sun-up to sun-down, seven days a week. The two men and one woman wear clothes of the period as do the consultants and other experts brought in.

Leave a Reply

